And she’s back!

I know, I know. I have been MIA for a couple months. I have no excuse except to say that I began a new job and a fellowship with Organizing for America in June, started another semester of grad school, was working about 60 hours a week and then found myself looking for another job…While I enjoyed taking the risk of joining the corporate world, I realized that wasn’t where I belonged. I am truly a nonprofiteer and am not happy doing anything else.

It took about 2 weeks of finally trying recipes I’ve pinned for months, redoing some antique finds, getting back on a regular running routine, sleeping long hours (and by long, I mean actually getting the recommended 8), volunteering and doing things I love/once again had time for to find another job. I’ve found that the whole “when God closes a door, He opens a window” saying is right on the money. I am absolutely thrilled to get to work with the Boys and Girls Club in my community, doing more than just fundraising. We’re still working out the details, but I will doing a lot more development work, which is largely the reason I applied to grad school in the first place. AND I will be working from home. You know what this means….another office remodel! There will be plenty of pics of this work in progress soon. Last weekend we had a yard sale to get rid of a lot of the crap that we’ve been storing in our current office and ended up raising half of what the Pottery Barn desk we’ve been eyeing costs. Woohoo! There will be more on the remodel soon.

Until then, here are some pics of what I’ve been up to:

20121115-122637.jpg

Interview with Ross Matthews about volunteering for the Obama campaign…

20121115-122731.jpg

Fall mantel redecorating…

20121115-122802.jpg

Mason’s (my nephew) 2nd Birthday at the park…

20121115-122830.jpg

Trip to Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia and a wine festival…

20121115-122853.jpg

Carrington’s wedding in Asheville…reminiscing with Jen about our days at the American Cancer Society…

20121115-122922.jpg

Fierce pose with my sister after a run and Insanity workout…

20121115-122937.jpg

Dresser remodel…from old, worn oak to smooth navy nautical…

20121115-122954.jpg

Beckham’s 1st Birthday (I’ve known his parents since high school)…

20121115-123011.jpg

Rally to hear Michelle Obama at the Charlotte airport…

20121115-123021.jpg

Corn and roasted red pepper soup with a brie, turkey and cranberry compote baguette.

I am so glad to be back online! See y’all soon 😉

One thought on “And she’s back!

Leave a Reply

