Salem ain’t just for the Amish

The first leg of my adventure was a stop to see my best friend, Lacey, in good ole Winston Salem. We have been through 15 years of misadventures and we’re still just as silly as we were at 13.

I arrived around 8pm and we made some hummus and watched Best Ink before a few hours of nonstop girl chit chat. I haven’t been sleeping well due to anticipation for this trip so I slept like a rock. When we awoke, we enjoyed a delicious spinach smoothie before laughing our way through a Brazilian Butts video.

Lacey will probably kill me for posting that but that’s what best friends do…After we worked muscles I didn’t know I had, we headed to Old Salem. It’s the home of Salem College, Wachovia and Moravian cookies. Most of the shops are usually closed when I visit so I was excited to spend the afternoon wandering the cobblestone streets.

Isn’t it such a cute town? The weather was perfect and, as always, I enjoyed every minute playing with my BFF like we were 13 again. And of course we took a few fun ones of ourselves too:

And then some more…

Can’t you tell that we love being together?  After a few hours of frolicking, we enjoyed a leisurely lunch at 6th and Vine downtown. Word on the street is Owen Wilson, Zach Galifianakis and Amy Poehler are filming a new movie close by and were spotted eating there a week ago. Unfortunately, no celeb spottings today. But the food was amazing. Don’t believe me? See for yourself:

I left with a full belly and a happy heart. Best friends do that to you. Next stop – my alma mater, Elon!

Leave a Reply

