13 days. 30 hours of driving. 8 cities. 5 states.

They say the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. On this much needed vacation of mine, the journey begins with the first 100 miles of this 1500 mile road trip. Why would you ever drive that far, you ask? As someone who gets antsy and cranky in a car after 2 hours, I’ve asked myself the same question. When the initial planning began I was going to fly to DC, megabus it to NY, and drive to Boston with a friend, before flying back. Sounds simple enough, right? Well after seeing the price of a flight, I decided to save some cash (my little civic gets about 40 miles to the gallon) and add a few stops along the way. There are quite a few people from college and my time in Paris, and even a couple from childhood, that I could see along the way if I drove the long route to DC and NY (Boston got nixed. But don’t worry, it’ll happen soon.). When I mapped it all out and contacted everyone I wanted to see and they were all available, it was an easy decision.

After a few months of planning, I packed up my car…

Said goodbye to Susie…

Gassed up the civic…

And set out on the first leg of my trip. What can you expect from me for the next 2 weeks? Lots of photos, stories and new experiences. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

