A Gift that Keeps on Giving

So, we’ve already established that I believe in causes. I don’t think anyone can believe in enough of them. As one of the lucky Americans who has a loving family and friends, a precious dog that greets me at the door when I come home, a house and a car, a closet full of clothes and shoes, a kitchen always full of food and an abundance of stuff I don’t need, I feel it is my duty to do what I can to stand up for these causes that help to better the lives of those with real needs.

Every year, I give up traditional gifts for my birthday and ask for donations for a cause I believe in.  This year is the big 27 (I know, I’m inching my way to 30) and I am fundraising for Charity: Water instead of asking for presents. For those of you who haven’t heard me rant and rave about this amazing and world-changing organization, I’ll give you some background. Charity: Water is a nonprofit whose mission is to bring clean and safe drinking water to people in developing nations. If you’ve never been to a developing nation, I’m sure it might be hard to imagine. There are a billion people on the planet who do not have access to clean water. Not ten thousand. Not a million. But a BILLION people.

Diseases from unsafe water and lack of basic sanitation kill more people every year than all forms of violence, including war. Children are especially vulnerable, as their bodies aren’t strong enough to fight diarrhea, dysentery and other illnesses.  90% of the 30,000 deaths that occur every week from unsafe water and unhygienic living conditions are of children under five years old. Many of these diseases are preventable. The UN predicts that one tenth of the global disease burden can be prevented simply by improving water supply and sanitation.  If these statistics aren’t upsetting to you, then you’re missing a little organ called a heart.

Charity: Water is making a visible difference in this water crisis.  In their 6 short years of operation, they have funded 6,185 projects that allow 2,545,000 people access to clean water in 19 countries around the world.  The most amazing thing – 100% of donations go directly to water projects.

I am hoping that people will give $27 for my 27th birthday, but I will joyfully and thankfully accept any amount.  I hope you will make a donation to help others around the world receive the same benefits you do from clean water.  To donate, please visit my Charity: Water page.

Thanks a billion and lots of love,
Kristen 🙂

Leave a Reply

