A Lovely Day Off

On Friday, I had a lovely day off of work and decided to fully enjoy it. I woke up early to get in my 30 day challenge workout via bodyrock.tv. I’m a week behind so I just completed day 5. I haven’t been as active lately, so I thought a challenge like this would be a great way to get back in the swing of things. All of the videos are 12-20 minutes, and let me tell you, it is worth waking up at 6:30 a.m. for. Honestly, I can do anything for 12 minutes. I was hurting the first day after just doing the fit test! I’m hoping this whips me back into shape so that in 25 days I can start training for another half marathon. There’s nothing like the burn that tells you you’re pushing yourself…ahhh, the burn. And I’m still feeling it.

After the workout and a quick bowl of cereal, I started cleaning. I go through these OCD clean freak phases, where I’ll spend an entire day cleaning and reorganizing my 952 sq. ft. house. It was not one of those days. 2 very kind volunteers from Habitat for Humanity came by to pick up some furniture I wanted to get rid of immediately donate and cleaned my forever untidy kitchen. Still in my sweaty yet comfy workout clothes, I went to meet my bff Jayni at our place – Amelie’s.

Located in NoDa (North Davidson), the art district of Charlotte, it’s this eclectic French-style cafe and bakery with mismatched chairs, couches and crazy chandeliers filling the space between the blue striped walls.

Chandelier made out of kitchen utensils and appliances

Best of all, it’s open 24 hours. We’re both busy bees and get caught up in work and school and everything else, but we meet there once or twice a month to take time out and relax and laugh and catch up on each other’s busy lives. It’s amazing that our friendship is still so strong after 13 years. It’s so easy to let life get in the way and I constantly struggle with that. Something I’ve learned, though, is that you have to make time for the people in your life. We’ll spend anywhere from 2 to 4 hours there whenever we go. I mean, it is an all afternoon event. We’ll start with coffee or tea and sit and chat about the cool stuff on the walls.

Then we’ll get lunch and eat and chat some more.

Me enjoying a turkey, brie and cranberry compote baguette

Then we’ll get a pastry (or two!) and sit and chat and drool over how delicious that salted caramel brownie (or macaroon) was that we devoured in 2 bites.

MMMMacaroons

Then we’ll chat some more before we go back to that big, busy world that awaits us…

The Neverending Office Project

Guess it’s time to tackle another organization, de-clutter project! At least I got to enjoy a few deliciously relaxing hours…

Leave a Reply

