No Excuse Not to Juice

In keeping with my resolution to be more health (not to mention budget) conscious this year, I wanted to share my new obsession with you. I always try to get organic juices at the grocery store, but those can get pretty expensive so I decided to try my hand at juicing. After doing lots of research and reading multiple reviews on juicers, I purchased the Breville Juice Fountain Plus back in December. I must admit, I am in love.

I’ve noticed that fruit on the verge of being overripe does best and brings out the strongest flavors. I tried homemade OJ on Christmas morning and it was such a hit with my very picky family, that I’ve been experimenting ever since. My favorite juice to date is my own version of green juice made with a handful or two of kale, one large apple (I prefer fuji), one pear (I prefer bartlett or anjou) and 1/3-1/2 lime. I also add sparkling mineral water and pour it in a red wine glass so it feels more like I’m having a treat. I’m fancy, I know.

Green Juice

Juicing isn’t always cheaper than store-bought or organic, so I try to only buy fruits and veggies that are on sale or in bulk. I must say, nothing beats the taste of legit, fresh-squeezed juice. Martha Stewart has some great suggestions for fruit and veggie juice blends here and Carlee at Deliciously Organized, one of my fave blogs, also talks about juicing and shares her secrets here. I actually consulted Carlee’s blog when deciding which juicer to get. I haven’t been brave enough to try any straight up veggie juices (I hate V8) but I think I might just make my first attempt for homemade Bloody Mary’s. Everything tastes better with a little alcohol, right? 😉 I’ll let you know how it turns out! I’m also working to get up the courage to attempt a juice fast one of these days…

Any juice recipes you’ve tried and love? Feel free to share 😀

3 thoughts on “No Excuse Not to Juice

  1. I’m so envious! Dying for a juicer over here. Is it a pain to clean? Try throwing in some carrots–those go really well with fruit and are pretty cheap. Yum!

Leave a Reply

